Pran All Time

BPL: Comilla beat Chittagong by 6 wickets


Tuesday 14 November, 2017 10:08:24 pm

BPL: Comilla beat Chittagong by 6 wickets

Dhaka, Nov 14 (UNB) – Comilla Victorians clinched their third victories in their 4th match of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Cricket beating Chittagong Vikings by six wickets at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Tuesday night. 

Chasing a moderate target of 140-run, Comilla anchored in the winning harbour in 18.1 overs spurred by the 74-run partnership between Imrul Kayes and Jos Buttler. 

Kayes came at the crease after the early departure of left-arm opener Tamim Iqbal (4 in 10 balls) and played an innings of 45 runs off just 36 balls featuring two boundaries and three over boundaries before being caught by Tanbir Hayder off Sunzamul Islam bowling. 

Buttler scored 44 runs off 31 balls with the help of three boundaries and two over boundaries. Buttler became the victim of stumping off a Sunzamul Islam bowling in 17.2 overs when the team was 134/4.

MN Samuels and skipper Mohammad Nabi remained unbeaten scoring 17 runs and 0 run respectively. 

Imrul Kayes was adjudged player of the match. 

Dilshan Munaweera and Sunzamul Islam picked up two wickets each spending 17 runs and 14 runs in four overs and three overs respectively. 

With this win, Comilla Victorians stood in the second place with three wins from four outings.  

Earlier, sent in to bat first, Chittagong Vikings scored 139 for 4 in stipulated 20 overs.

The Vikings made a good start scoring 46 runs in 5.1 overs in the opening stand. before Kiwi batsman Luke Ronchi fell victim of lbw by Mohammad Saifuddin scoring 31 runs off 19 balls, featuring five fours and one six.

National opener Soumya Sarkar added another 32-ball 30 runs hitting two fours and one six before he was stumped by Liton Das off a Mohammad Nabi delivery at 83 for 2 in 11.3 overs. 

But their misery came when Sri Lankan batsman Dilshan Munaweere went back to the pavilion scoring 25-ball 19 runs with one over boundary followed by Zimbabwean Sikandar Raza who added 24-ball 20 runs with one four with scoreboard showing 120 for 4 in 18.1 overs.

Captain Misbah-ul Haq and English Chris Jordan remained not out on 16 runs each.   

Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Saifuddin, Rashid Khan and Dwayne Bravo captured one wicket each.