Pran All Time

Tigers’ squad for 3-match ODI series against West Indies announced


Tuesday 03 July, 2018 06:53:38 pm

Tigers’ squad for 3-match ODI series against West Indies announced

Dhaka, July 3 (UNB) - The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Tuesday announced a 16-member squad for the three-match ODI series against West Indies beginning on July 22 at Guyana National Stadium calling four new players for the ODI cricket. 

Pacer Mashrafe Bin Mortaza remained as captain of the Tigers in the limited over format while Bangladesh Test and T20 captain Shakib Al Hasan was made his deputy in the series.

Touring Bangladesh team will play their remaining two ODI matches against the Caribbean on July 25 at the same venue and on July 28 at Warner Park in St Kitts.

Four cricketers – Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Nazmul Islam Apu, Abu Haider Roni and Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi – were included for the first time in the ODI squad after representing the country in either Test or T20 cricket. Wicketkeeper batsman Liton Kumar Das was also included in the team.

Six players -– Imrul Kayes, injured Nasir Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Abul Hasan Raju, Mohammad Saifuddin and Sunzamul Islam -- were dropped from the ODI squad. 

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Hoque Bijoy, Liton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Haider Roni, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh team, led by famed all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, will start their campaign in the Caribbean Islands taking on West Indies in the first match of the two-match Test series on Wednesday (July 4) at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound in Antigua.