Pran All Time

Women closing in on WorldT20; Set Scotland 126 to win


Thursday 12 July, 2018 10:15:12 pm

Women closing in on WorldT20; Set Scotland 126 to win

Dhaka, July 12 (UNB) – The Bangladesh women’s cricket team continued its march to the biggest stage  of the Women’s World T20 tournament, setting opponents Scotland a stiff target of 126 to win in the 2nd semifinal of the Qualifiers at the VRA Cricket Ground in Amstelveen, Netherlands on Thursday. 

Scotland were 40/1 off 10 overs in response, in a clash that will see the winner book the spot in the final of the qualifying tournament as well as the second and final spot in the women’s T20 showcase.

Earlier batting first, Bangladesh piled 125/6 in their stipulated 20 overs, after Scots skipper Kathryn Bryce won the toss and sent Bangladesh to bat first.

Bangladesh openers Shamima Sultana and Ayasha Rahman made the best of the invitation, posting a very good partnership of 51 runs in 6.5 overs in the opening stand. Shamima set the pace with a  16-ball 22 hitting three boundaries, while Ayasha held the ship steady with 20 (27 balls, 1 x 4).  

After one-down Fargana Haque was sent back without troubling the scorers much, number four Nigar Sultana contributed the team highest 31 runs off 36 balls, guiding the team through till the end remaining not out.  

Sanjita Islam scored 18-ball 19 runs including one four while Fahima Khatun made 16-ball 15, also with a boundary.

PA Chatterjee grabbed two wickets for 17 runs.

Salma Khatun has taken the lone wicket for Bangladesh.

Both the Bangladesh and Scotland are vying for the last spot in the final round of the Women's World T20 scheduled for West Indies November 9-25 this year.

Earlier, Ireland reached the final round of the meet beating Papua New Guinea by 27 runs in the day’s 1st semifinals.

Bangladesh playing XI: Shamima Sultana , Ayasha Rahman, Fargana Hoque, Nigar Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Fahima Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Nahida Akter, Sanjida Islam, Salma Khatun (captain) and Panna Ghosh.

Scotland playing XI: Sarah Bryce, Lorna Jack, Rachel Scholes, Kathryn Bryce (captain), Becky Glen, Priyanaz Chatterji, Katie McGill, Ruth Willis, Abbi Aitken, Laura Grant and AM Maqsood.